AIAVT Members Gather to Celebrate at the 75th Anniversary Event

AIAVT President, Eleanor D'Aponte, AIA presenting the 75 Year Award winners
Taryn Barrett, AIAVT Board Member and Past President, presents the 2023 John Dale Award to Tolya Stonorov, AIA
Jeff Stetter, AIAVT Co-Chair of the Awards Committee, presents the 2023 Annual Design Award winners along with Co-Chair Ryan Edwards

Dear AIAVT Members,

The good health and good cheer of the chapter was evident Thursday, December 7th at the 75th Anniversary celebration and 2023 AIA Annual Meeting and Awards night hosted at HULA in Burlington. If you were unable to make it, you can watch the video of the presentations here.

This event had the largest turnout of AIAVT members in recent memory, with 175 in attendance, and marked a significant milestone for our chapter. The Back to the Future themed event was a success thanks to our volunteers and members. Some of the highlights included games and prizes by committees, such as an EPN napkin sketch contest, a Scholarship Commttee putting green, a COTE wheel of fortune, and an EDI & Membership Committee photobooth.

The Public Policy Committee introduced Andrew Brewer and Patricia C. Komline of AIAVT’s new lobbying firm, Downs Rachlin Martin (DRM). Andrew and Patti were in attendance to meet AIAVT members and hear from them about their policy questions and concerns. DRM will work with the Public Policy committee to continue advocating for architects in the state. If you haven't yet, please consider making a contribution to AIAVT's advocacy efforts here.

A rolling slideshow featured all the 75-year award submissions as well as some AIA archival photos. A presentation of the 2023 AIAVT Annual Design Awards was made by AIAVT’s Awards Committee Co-Chairs, Ryan Edwards and Jeff Stetter, and the 75-year Awards presentation was made Devin Coleman, our State Architectural Historian and myself.

A stellar 2024 Board slate was approved with Nathalia Ellis of Freeman French Freeman stepping into the AIAVT President role, and new Board members Beto Silva of Freeman French Freeman, and Oluwapelumi Adefarakan, a Norwich University AIAS member.

The AIAVT Board of Directors gifted a print by artist Katie Babic to our tireless Executive Director, Sarah O Donnell, without whom nothing would be accomplished. She wears many hats and is fluent in everything from budget to code to policy.

Finally, the John Dale Award was presented to Tolya Stonorov of Stonorov Workshop and Norwich University. Taryn Barrett, 2020 AIAVT President, presented this award to Stonorov, highlighting her collaborative approach to teaching and mentorship. The Vermont Women’s Fund will receive $1500.00 in her honor.

We could not have hosted such a memorable evening without the support of our sponsors. Massive thanks goes to our Underwriter, Windows and Doors by Brownell who made everyone’s arrival extra special by providing a complimentary welcome cocktail! 

Thanks to our Gold Sponsors: Loewen Window Center of Vermont & New Hampshire, Office Environments, Swaney Lighting Our, Silver Sponsors: Poole Professional, Wagner Hodgson Landscape Architecture, Sherwin Williams, Nanawall and our Bronze Sponsors: ReArch, Neagley & Chase, rk Miles, Vermont Passive House, Tarkett, DEW, J.H. Pokorny Assoc. LLC, Engineering Ventures

Thank you to our members, colleagues and friends for being a part of AIAVT’s history, and for helping us celebrate the work of Vermont’s architectural community.

Wishing you all peace for the holiday season!

Eleanor D’Aponte

AIAVT Board President