AIAVT Announces 2019 Scholarship Recipients

AIAVT’s 2019 Chapter President, Joel Page, AIA announced the recipients of this year’s scholarship awards at the Annual Meeting & Design Awards event, which took place on Dec. 4th, 2019 at the UVM Alumni House in Burlington, VT. 

AIAVT hosts the Annual Guy Teschmacher Golf Tournament, to raise funds for the  Hanne N. Williams Scholar Recognition Fund. Each year, this fund awards scholarships in varying amounts to students pursuing architecture education. 

This year, Vermont Technical College awarded the 2019 Ruth Freeman Award to Heidi Underbakke. The 2020 VTC recipient of the Ruth Freeman Award will be Andrew Scott, who was in attendance at the Dec. 4th meeting. 

Two Norwich University students were recipients of the 2019 AIAVT Honor Award, made possible with a matching grant from AIA National. Junior, Sam Libby, and Senior, Aran Hird, were chosen by Norwich University faculty based on demonstrated excellence in their under-graduate work made possible with a matching grant from AIA National. In the Spring of 2019, Graduating MFA candidate, Nick Lamson was chosen by AIAVT’s board of directors to receive the Best in Show Senior Thesis award. 

The 2019 recipient AIAVT Scholar Promise Award was Austin H. Jarvis. Jarvis was selected from over 30 applicants based on his academic performance, strong recommendations, and a keen interest in architecture.  

Additionally, the recipient of AIAVT's first awarding of the Carol Miklos Community Outreach Grant, Devin Colman, was in attendance at the Design Awards event. Colman, VT's Architectural Historian, received the grant to support the Vermont Architects Oral History Project.  Read more about the project here.

AIAVT congratulates each of our scholarship winners on their achievements. We continue to seek ways to support students and young professionals who are pursuing careers in architecture. Additional resources can be found through our Emerging Professionals Network (EPN)

Learn more about AIAVT’s Scholarship fund here