AIAVT Awards Presented at VTC Student Honors Celebration

Heidi Underbakke, winner of two awards from AIAVT this year, with Joel Page, AIAVT Board President
By Joel Page, AIA

AIAVT provides several scholarships to deserving Vermont high school and college students who show exceptional aptitude and interest in the field of architecture.
Joel Page, AIAVT Board President and Principal at Scott + Partners, Inc. recently attended Vermont Technical College’s Student Honors Celebration on March 20, 2019 to present two awards on behalf of AIAVT.
The Robert S. Brady Award is given to the sophomore student who has shown the greatest all-around academic development in the Architectural & Building Engineering Technology program. Robert Brady, is a former AIAVT member and professor of architecture at VTC. Heidi Underbakke is this year’s recipient of the $750 award.  “Heidi demonstrates intellectual curiosity and notable technical competence in all of the academic areas related to her program of study, including architectural design, environmental systems design, structural design, construction practices, and others. She frequently asks questions that serve to foster learning for others in the classroom.  In addition, she was the president of the student club for students interested in architecture. The club went to Montreal last year to study and enjoy the architecture, and will be going to the mansions of Newport, Rhode Island this year” said Scott Sabol and Brad Miller, VTC Professors.
The Ruth Freeman Award is given to the student in the Architectural & Building Engineering Technology program whose work in Architectural Design I has exhibited architectural design excellence. The Ruth Freeman Award is given in memory of Vermont’s first female architect and president of AIAVT. Heidi Underbakke also received this year's award for $750. “She is one of those students who explores beyond the assignment and enjoys knowledge for its own sake. Her projects have all been thoughtful, sophisticated and beautiful.  Equally as important, her projects often possess a bit of humor and fun.  She is also an inspiration (and help) to her classmates, as she is willing to share her experiences, skills and respectful criticisms” said Andrew Larosa, VTC Adjunct Professor.
Both awards are made possible through the Hanne N. Williams Scholar Fund, which derives support from the AIAVT Guy Teschmacher Memorial Golf Tournament.  AIAVT will be hosting a tournament this year. We hope to see you there.