### AIAVT - ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES - APPROVED

December 6, 2012 / Vermont Statehouse / Montpelier, VT

**Attending:** No formal attendance was taken; attendees included most of the board of directors and approximately 130 members and other guests.

Called to order: approximately 6:45pm

Outgoing president Diantha Korzun chaired the annual meeting.

### Announcements:

- Diantha recognized Guy Teschmacher's contributions to AIAVT and announced that the annual golf tournament has been renamed the "Guy Teschmacher Memorial Golf Tournament."
- Marvin Windows and Doors, Charron, and Poole Professional, Ltd were thanked for sponsoring the awards dinner.
- Diantha recapped AIAVT's 2012 events.

## Election of new board members and executive committee members:

- Nominees for new board members for 2013 are Joshua Chafe and Larry Dean.
- Nominees for new executive committee member is Lisa Rovner, as Secretary/Treasurer.
- Existing executive committee members will cycle into new officer positions as follows for 2013:
  - o Tom Bachman President
  - o Maura Wygmans President Elect
  - o Diantha Korzun Immediate Past President
- Nominees Chafe, Dean, and Rovner were approved by voice vote of the members present.

# Appreciation of Service to AIAVT:

- 2012 board members Michael Hoffman, Lauren Davis, and Aaron Cayer are stepping down and were thanked for their service.
- Executive Director Carol Miklos was presented with a gift from the board of directors.
- Community service volunteers Elena Rosen, Valerie Thibodeau, and Jamie Carpenter were thanked for their efforts.

### Newly Licensed Vermont Architects:

• The board congratulated the following architects who earned their first licensure in Vermont in 2011 and 2012: Alan Benoit, Barry Hoag, Daniel Sagan, David Mentzer, Donna aston, Douglas Dulac, Douglas Sonsalla, Eileen Hee, Gregory Masefield, Jack Byer, John Linn, Melissa Aloisi, Aaron Kadoch, Jsees Robbins, Rudy Powin, and Zachary Brock. The new licensees were invited to attend the annual meeting/awards dinner free-of-charge in recognition of their accomplishment.

# 2012 Scholarship Winners

Diantha announced the winners, who were presented with their awards earlier in the year.

- AIAVT Hanne N. Williams Scholars Award Daniel Webster (2nd year), Kaylan Aufdermaur (3rd year)
- Ruth Freeman Memorial Award Kazimir K. Cunningham
- Robert Brady Award William A. Moore
- Norwich University Best-in-Show Award Kortnee Hill

## Excellence in Design Award Winners:

Upon conclusion of the official business of the Annual Meeting, the winners of the 2012 AIA Vermont Excellence in Design Awards were announced by Tom Bachman, who presented them with certificates.

# <u>Special Category - Historic Preservation:</u>

Flynn Center for the Performing Arts, Burlington VT (Freeman French Freeman)

## Citation:

Temple of Dindor, Warren VT (David Sellers, AIA)

# Citation:

The Bosarge Family Education Center at the Coastal Main Botanical Gardens, Boothbay ME (Maclay Architects, Scott Simon Architects)

### Merit Award:

Lofts Studio, Wilmington VT (Linesync Architecture)

# Merit Award:

King Arthur Flour Expansion Project, Norwich VT (Truex Cullins Architecture)

### Honor Award:

Cantilever House at Lake Dunmore (Birdseye Design)

### People's Choice Award:

Chapel: Darling Hill Road, Lyndonville VT (Robert Peabody Brown, AIA)

Adjourn: Approximately 7:45 pm

Respectfully submitted by Katie Hill, Assistant Secretary 01/08/2013